Jodie Foster chastises the media, defending Kristen Stewart and celebrity privacy.

Jodie Foster Blasts Kristen Stewart–Robert Pattinson Break-Up Spectacle.

Now that you have (hopefully) read the above linked article and maybe some of the comments, here is my two cents. First notice how my headline greatly differs from The Daily Beasts. This is me departing from the theatrics often seen in the headlines of yellow journalism.

This may be my most unpopular point of view but I don’t think that Jodie is defending Kristen’s recent infidelity. Think about it, how could she? I think what she is trying to express is how hard it is to be a celebrity and live a normal life. I have read so many comments on so many forums and social networks focusing on the idea that Kristen deserves to suffer for hurting Robert and we have a right to demand info about it since she’s a “public figure” (which even if so, isn’t anyone’s business/judgement call).

I’ve noticed that there seems to be an idea about celebrities in general not deserving privacy because they chose their careers i.e. chose to be in the spotlight.  So does that mean that cops deserve to be shot? Don’t they choose their own careers also i.e. put themselves in the line of fire? Are we so disassociated with our own consciences (which is defined as the personification of the moral sense of right and wrong) that we feel a choice to wear a gun or badge, or a desire to entertain for a living justifies a loss of life, safety, and privacy?

I have been thinking about this subject for a few weeks now. Most people know that I’ve recently become a huge admirer of Evan Rachel Wood and never miss a tweet of her’s so in being so diligent in reading what she has to share I have had what some call a “consciousness raising” about how celebrities are often robbed of what we non famous folks take for granted like a bike ride with our loved ones without being chased by people snapping dozens of pics (meaning someone would have to be running or driving along side, or in front of them) of what would for us be a normal relaxing bike ride could be a dangerous distraction for celeb or photographer.

When is this type of  intrusion enough?

 

 

 

 

 

 

On to another of my favourite celebs.

How do those of you who enjoyed watching TV shows like “Everwood” and “Brothers & Sisters” or even the current hit TV show “Revenge” think the Emily VanCamp must feel about not even being able to take out her trash without someone snapping off a dozen pics of it? Me? It sickens me that we can’t give a little thing like privacy to those who have given us so much joy with their performances. I know I would see it as a huge invasion of privacy if someone came up in my yard and started snapping pictures of me feeding my dogs or taking out the trash in my cut off jeans and morning bed head.

It should be a no brainer to at the very least respect celebrity privacy while they are at home or on what is obviously their day off to be with their loved ones.

In  closing, let me say that I am rarely more in awe of Evan Rachel Wood then when she is standing up and speaking out for her beliefs.

Evan telling of the Paparazzi

I think that says it all!

EOT

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I have always admired and respected Foster’s work. That article is outstanding, incredibly intelligent and very powerful. I think I’ll have to add her to the list of actors who have my undying regard and whom I really wish I knew as friends. That list now has two people: Steve Martin is the other. Can you just imagine the film those two might make together?

    I agree, I don’t see any element of Foster defending Stewart. (A topic on which I know very little, only what I’ve unavoidably picked up from headlines. The whole Twilight thing doesn’t interest me, nor does the lives of stars.) The public reaction touches a bit on what we talked about before, how the fans take ownership of the object of their fanishness.

    Nice analogy on the cops! I think the reality of being shot does come with the job choice. And with celebrity comes more than a chance of fame. It’s an odd push-pull situation, too. Part of the goal is fame, but most find out that fame isn’t without serious downsides. Especially these days in our viral interweb world. (Interesting that Foster would not choose to subject herself to it these days.)

    The sad irony is that fans often destroy the very thing they love.

    Should it be otherwise? Oh, absolutely, without question. Will people every grow the fuck up and act with maturity? I wish I believed there was any chance of that ever happening.

    Reply

Thoughts? Comments?

